University of Toronto, Department of Economics
The William Crowther House was built in 1889 by a Toronto merchant, who occupied it until 1927. The house was built in the Queen Anne Revival style, showcasing gables and dormers with elaborate woodwork, hipped gabled roofs and red brick with sandstone foundations and detailing. The house bears witness to the former residential character of St. George Street south of Bloor Street West. The property is designated under Part IV of the Ontario Heritage Act by the City of Toronto and is protected by a Heritage Conservation Easement.
When the site was redeveloped with a new addition by Hariri Pontarini, ERA was responsible for the conservation of the exterior envelope of Crowther House, including masonry, windows, doors, roofs, flashings, and woodwork.